Steiner MPS 2.0 vs MPS-C: Which Enclosed Pistol Dot Fits Your Gun?
Steiner released two enclosed-emitter pistol dots in 2026: the compact MPS-C in April and the second-generation MPS 2.0 in August. An enclosed emitter keeps rain, lint and mud from blocking the dot, which matters on a gun you carry every day. They aren't really competitors, though. The MPS 2.0 is an ACRO-footprint optic for full-size and compact duty pistols. The MPS-C is a smaller RMSc-footprint optic for slimline carry guns. Your slide cut usually picks for you. Every number below is from Steiner's spec tables and launch releases.
Specs side by side
| Spec | MPS 2.0 | MPS-C |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Enclosed emitter, 1x | Enclosed emitter, 1x |
| Footprint | Aimpoint ACRO | RMSc |
| Dot | 3.3 MOA (8700000040) or 2 MOA (8700000042), red | 1.6 MOA red (8700000039) |
| Glass | Clear objective 21 x 16 mm | Window 20 x 16 mm; objective 21 x 19 mm, ocular 22 x 18 mm |
| Battery | CR2032, magnetic cover | CR1632 |
| Battery life | Up to 90,000 hr at level 4; 27,000 hr at maximum | Up to 46,125 hr at lowest; 13,000 hr at medium |
| Brightness | 8 manual settings; 6 day/night modes, 2 NV-compatible | 12 levels: 10 day and low-light, 2 NV-compatible |
| Power management | Not specified in Steiner's spec table | Shake-Awake; always-on or 13-hour auto-off |
| Click value | 1 MOA | 1 MOA |
| Adjustment range | 90 MOA elevation, 90 MOA windage | 50 MOA elevation, 50 MOA windage |
| Housing | Reinforced all-metal, enclosed | Hard-anodized aluminum, reinforced sidewalls, metal shroud |
| Waterproof | 20 m | Not specified in the Steiner data we have |
| Dimensions | Not specified in the Steiner data we have | 1.46 x 1.27 x 1.08 in |
| Weight | 2.32 oz | 1.13 oz (32 g) |
| MSRP | $631.99 | $574.99 |
| Status | Shipping | Shipping |
Specs from Steiner's MPS 2.0 and MPS-C product pages, checked October 21, 2026. The MPS 2.0 MSRP is from Steiner's August 2026 launch release. The MPS-C window size is from Steiner's April 2026 launch release. Steiner sells through dealers.
Footprint decides most of this
Check your slide before anything else. The MPS 2.0 uses the Aimpoint ACRO footprint, so it fits slides and plates cut for the ACRO P-2 and other ACRO-pattern enclosed dots. The MPS-C uses the RMSc footprint, the common pattern for slimline carry pistols in the P365 and Glock 43X/48 class.
An RMSc-cut slide generally won't take an ACRO optic without a different cut or a plate, and an ACRO-cut slide won't take the MPS-C directly. If your pistol is optics-ready, the maker's plate list or slide-cut spec tells you which one to buy. Read new micro-compact carry pistols to see which new guns are cut for which footprint.
Dot size and brightness
The MPS 2.0 comes in two dot sizes: 3.3 MOA (item 8700000040) and 2 MOA (8700000042). The bigger dot is easier to find fast, and the smaller one covers less of the target at distance. The MPS-C has a single 1.6 MOA dot, one of the smaller dots on a carry optic. That's precise, but it can be harder to pick up on the draw than a 3 MOA dot.
Steiner lists 8 manual brightness settings on the MPS 2.0, with 6 day/night modes and 2 night-vision-compatible ones. The MPS-C has 12 levels, 10 for day and low light and 2 for night vision. Both give NV users a usable setting.
Battery and runtime
The bigger optic wins on runtime. The MPS 2.0 runs a CR2032 rated up to 90,000 hours at brightness level 4, or 27,000 hours at maximum, and its magnetic battery cover is easy to use. The MPS-C runs a smaller CR1632 rated up to 46,125 hours on its lowest setting and 13,000 hours at medium. It also has motion-sensing Shake-Awake and a choice of always-on or a 13-hour auto-off, which helps on a carry gun that sits in a holster most of the day. Ratings at different brightness levels aren't directly comparable, so treat these as maker ratings, not head-to-head tests.
Size, weight and adjustment
The MPS-C weighs 1.13 oz, less than half of the MPS 2.0's 2.32 oz. On a 17- to 20-ounce carry pistol, that's a noticeable difference in balance and bulk. The MPS 2.0 has much more adjustment range, 90 MOA in each direction against 50, which matters more on odd slide cuts and long-range pistol setups than on a carry gun zeroed at 10 to 25 yards.
Price
Steiner's MSRPs are $631.99 for the MPS 2.0 and $574.99 for the MPS-C. Street prices are lower: on our last checks we recorded the MPS 2.0 at $549 at one dealer (October 18, 2026) and the MPS-C at $499.99 at another (October 20, 2026). Prices change, so check each product page for our latest. Every change we confirm goes into the price change log.
Which one should you buy?
- Full-size or compact duty pistol with an ACRO cut: the MPS 2.0. More runtime, more adjustment, and a choice of 2 or 3.3 MOA dots.
- Slimline carry pistol with an RMSc cut: the MPS-C. It's built for the footprint, and at 1.13 oz it adds little weight.
- You want the biggest, fastest dot: the MPS 2.0 in 3.3 MOA.
- You want an open-emitter alternative: see Holosun 407C X3 vs 507C X3 for two RMR-footprint options.
| Product | Status | MSRP | Announced |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steiner MPS 2.0 | Shipping | $631.99 | Aug 3, 2026 |
| Steiner MPS-C | Shipping | $574.99 | Apr 1, 2026 |
More: best new red dots of 2026, every new optic, more new Steiner releases and all comparisons.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the Steiner MPS 2.0 and MPS-C?
What footprint does the Steiner MPS 2.0 use?
What footprint does the Steiner MPS-C use?
What is the battery life of the Steiner MPS 2.0 and MPS-C?
How much do the Steiner MPS 2.0 and MPS-C cost?
Sources
- Steiner: MPS 2.0 product page and spec table
- Steiner MPS 2.0 launch release (The Outdoor Wire)
- Steiner: MPS-C product page and spec table
- Steiner MPS-C launch release (Shooting Wire)
- Zero Mike Firearms: MPS 2.0 listing ($549, Oct 18, 2026)
- Superior Outfitters: MPS-C listing ($499.99, Oct 20, 2026)
Keep exploring
The Gun Release Report
Every Friday: what got announced, what got listed, and what actually shipped. No fluff, no spam. Unsubscribe anytime.